My Trip Up The Mountain

“He hath made the earth by his power, he hath established the world by his wisdom, and hath stretched out the heaven by his understanding”  Jeremiah 51:15 – KJV

This morning I decided to take a trip to Mt. Rubidoux, but this time wasn’t like most other times, it was a little different…

I stared at the long road ahead of me and thought, “This is the day I start getting back into shape, there will be no looking back, and I will conquer you each and every morning.” My new exercise regiment was underway as I took the first step onto the black top road, only to begin winding around the mountain and eventually reach the top. My pace was fast as I power walked around the first turn. I began concentrating on my breathing and synchronizing them with my steps as I continued to buzz around the second, wait now third, turn of the path before me. You could hear the morning birds singing their songs of different pitch and tone, the smell of the crisp dewy air cooled my core, and the sun was slowly peeking  while generously wrapping it’s soft light around the corners of the mountain. That’s when it hit me! Why walk this mountain in a rush to fulfill my own goals and desires? Why not share this time alone with the Lord and bless him on your way to the top? That’s when my exercise regiment turned into a walk with God.

“All things were made by him; and without him was not any thing made that was made. ” John 1:3 – KJV

It’s peculiar how God speaks wisdom to you at the most oddest times of your day. So as I started this newly purposed journey up the Mountain I decided to take the time to actually bless and praise the Lord by thanking Him for all the blessings in my recent life. Before I could think of one thing, another thought popped into my mind. “I will let these blessings speak through my mouth and not through my mind. I will not be ashamed for being in Love with Jesus, I want to let the whole world know…” So I began my talk with God, ” Thank you Lord for creating me, thank you Lord for giving me the breath of life today, thank you Lord for my hard working husband, thank you Lord for giving me purpose, thank you Lord for renewing your mercies daily, thank you Lord for your abundant grace because I so desperately need it, etc…” People would walk by me smile, and others would look at me as though I was loon, but only one shouted amen! I was taken aback  by this shout of praise, as I looked back there she was, and elderly lady wearing a t-shirt that read, “Wise men still seek him.” I almost did a double take. Then finding myself enlightened to know that there are people out there who truly aren’t ashamed. This had been my set back for a while. Finally I’m relieved to say initiation is complete and now I can join the club! After counting my blessings I realized my pace had slowed down, my mind was clear, and my soul was comforted in peace. It’s interesting how, as Christians, we know how to receive the blessings and we want to lean all about how we can get them, but rarely do we take that precious time to lean how to give them back to God. About half way up the mountain, at this point I was able to refocus my mind on God’s amazing creation that was surrounding me through my entire journey. Recognizing that everything that I was seeing, smelling, feeling, and discovering with all my senses were breathed out by God. Even all the homes and man made items can be credited to God. For He is the one who gave man his intelligence as well as giving man the ability to create and put together things with their bare hands. Everywhere you go, everything you see, displays the vast greatness and glory of God, and all are able to tangibly touch and see His creations. With these great blessings and gifts; we have sculpted amazing masterpieces, ascended sky reaching towers, flown into the outer space that lies beyond Earth’s atmosphere. Many great discoveries and iconic moments in history have happened, and have been laid out, because we have a God that gave us all the freewill and ability to pave the way for our generation as well as generations to come.

“For the indivisible things of him from the creation of the world are clearly seen, being understood by the things that are made, even his eternal power and Godhead; so that they are without excuse.”  Romans 1:20 – KJV

Continuing my walk I was able to have this sense of peace come over me. All of my tears and fears had disappeared from my soul. I was awakened and enlightened, and only God could have done that for me. Soon I became overwhelmed with JOY as looking over all of His creation, not being able to stop thinking of His majesty, power, and glory. How could some big space explosion create all of this beauty? How could we have just evolved from a slimy sea animal turned monkey? How could the Earth, Sun, Moon, and Stars be aligned just so perfect , so that our world wouldn’t go into a magnetic field failure and an earth melting chaos? I was in awe of His awe-someness! I couldn’t believe how many poor souls were caught up, and bound by, an irrational logic of being dynamited into existence without cause or purpose, but just ‘there’. All the evidence of something greater than ourselves is lying all around me, all around them, and it’s almost unfathomable that anyone could somehow deny a greater power. If only they knew what I knew. That there is a purpose for their lives so they can finally start valuing their own. That there is a hope for life after death so they can have peace and rest from this busy and restless world. That no longer do they have to fear they will only become nothing and cease to exist. These thoughts continued to pour out of my mind, my heart, my soul. I began to pray for all those whom I passed up on the way to the top of the mountain. I prayed for their lives, circumstance, and salvation, for God’s will, grace, and forgiveness, to place someone in their lives to lead them to His cross so their burdens may be lifted and their eyes may see truth. Before I knew it my feet were crossing over the steps that were leading me to the cross. I had made it to the top of the mountain.

“For thus saith the LORD that created the heavens; God himself that formed the earth and made it; he hath established it, he created it not in vain, he formed it to be inhabited: I am the LORD; and there is none else.:  Isaiah 45:18 – KJV

At the top you could see over the whole city. You could see downtown, the river bottom, all the freeways, fellow mountains, and every home in this big-small town! The wind was light, sun was warm, and birds were chirping. It was a tranquil moment and another level of growth for me. My thoughts continued to carry on. But all I could do was smile, spread my arms wide, and bask in the beauty around me! “Bless the Lord O’ my soul, and all that is withing me, bless His Holy name. Bless the Lord O’ my soul, forget not His benefits.”, I rejoiced with my breath. Relief, joy, peace, hope, and all His benefits blessed me and consumed my soul in that moment. I felt as though He was right there with me, walking with me, talking with me, praying with me, and now feeling the wind and looking out on His creation with me! It was majestic indeed and I am so grateful to have went hiking today with Christ, and have this experience to note. I vowed to no longer be ashamed to openly speak of Him, openly talk to Him, openly pray with Him wherever I may be. All the glory is to you God and thank you for being my #1.

For the History behind the Mountain click here and enjoy your read!

Thank you and God Bless!

About ImagineDreamWish

“Sometimes things become possible if we want them bad enough.” - T.S. Elliot View all posts by ImagineDreamWish

Comments are disabled.